Venmo has become by far the most popular way to send money to friends and family. At the tap of a button, you can send money to someone instantly.

However, some people have privacy concerns with Venmo. Especially given the fact that the default mode of your payments are set to “Public”. Meaning that anyone can see who you’ve paid, and who has paid you. That can be a bit unnerving. The good news is, there’s a quick and simple solution to solve that problem!

Follow these steps to set your Venmo account to “Private”:

  1. Open your Venmo App

  1. Tap the menu icon in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

  1. Tap the “Settings” row

  1. Tap “Private”

  1. Tap “Change anyway”. Venmo will ask you to confirm that you’d like to set your default to “Private”.

  1. Your Venmo account is now set to Private!