If you’re concerned about your privacy and data being shared without your consent, or you’re just simply ready to move on from Facebook, there is now a way to permanently delete your Facebook account. Previously, you could only deactivate your account, but now, Facebook has a way to permanently delete your account. To permanently delete your Facebook account, follow these steps below:

1. Click on the downward pointing triangle. It will be located in the upper right hand corner.

2. Click on ‘Settings & Privacy’

3. Click on ‘Settings’

4. Click on ‘Your Facebook Information’

5. Click on ‘View’ next to ‘Deactivation and Deletion’

6. Select ‘Permanently Delete Account’ and click ‘Continue to Account Deletion’. For more information on the ‘Deactivate Account’ option, read the next section.

7. Click ‘Delete Account’

8. Enter your password. For security reasons, Facebook will prompt you to enter your login credentials. Before proceeding, make sure this is what you’d like to do. Once you permanently delete your Facebook Account, it’s gone. You may want to make sure that you’ve backed up your photos, contacts, or anything else you may want access to in the future.  If you’d like a more temporary solution, you can Deactivate your Facebook account instead (see below)

9. You’re done!

How to Deactivate your Facebook Account

If permanently deleting your Facebook account sounds like something you’re not sure about, you can always Deactivate your Facebook account instead. By deactivating your facebook account, you can always decide to reactivate it again in the future! Follow the steps below to deactivate your Facebook account.

1. Click on the downward pointing triangle. It will be located in the upper right hand corner.

2. Click on ‘Settings & Privacy’

3. Click on ‘Settings’

4. Click on ‘Your Facebook Information’

5. Click on ‘View’ next to ‘Deactivation and Deletion’

6. Select ‘Deactivate Account’ and click ‘Continue to Account Deactivation’

7. Enter your password. For security reasons, Facebook will prompt you to enter your password. Remember, you will always have the opportunity to Reactivate your Facebook account in the future.

8. You’re done!