Many users may love it, but Twitter can be draining at times and you may want to delete your account. Most people want to temporarily get away with their Twitter accounts and be back after a short break. Others may want to permanently break up with the platform to avoid hours of surfing and tweeting. Either way, you can easily deactivate your Twitter account.

The social media platform will remove your profile, messages, and tweets from its website immediately. However, your data will be invisible for 30 days. If you log in, everything will come back. However, if you don’t log in within 30 days, your account and its content will be deleted permanently.

How to Delete Your Twitter Account

  1. Open your Web browser and log into Twitter. Click on the “Account Settings” tab at the top of the page. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.
  1. Scroll down and click on “Deactivate My Account.” 
  1. Read the warnings and, be confirmed with your decision. Then, click on the “Deactivate” button. You’ll be given a 30 days grace period if you change your mind and decide to reactivate your account.
  1. To confirm your identity, enter your Account password. Click on the “Deactivate Account” button. Immediately close the Web browser and don’t log back in. now, Twitter will start removing your profile and your tweets. Remember that some tweets may take a few days to be completely erased.