There are a number of reasons why you might want to delete your paypal account. You may have closed your business tied to the account, you may no longer need to make or receive payments digitally, or maybe you’ve switched over to a competitor like Venmo. Regardless of your reason, we’ll walk you through the process of deleting your Paypal account, it’s easy!

But first, be sure that you’d like to delete your account. Because once you delete your account, it’s gone forever. If you’re frustrated with a payment that you you’d like to cancel, you don’t need to delete your account, click here to learn how to cancel a payment instead.

With that being said, if you’re ready to delete your Paypal account, let’s get started!

  1. Login to your Paypal Account

  1. Click the Settings icon located in the upper right hand corner of the home page.

  1. Select the “Account” tab

  1. Click “Close your account” located at the bottom of the page.

  1. Click the “Close Account” button when the popup appears. Again, be sure that you want to permanently close your account before confirming this. Once you close your account, it’s gone forever.